How do I apply for an alcoholic beverage certificate?
Please contact the Finance Department – Alcohol Licensing Department.
Initial application for license.
Each initial applicant shall make written application to the council for the privilege of engaging in the sale of alcoholic beverages using forms approved by the clerk and specifying wholesale, retail sales, brewpub, or consumption on the premises, and specifying liquor or beer and wine. Such initial application shall be accompanied by a certified or cashier's check in the amount of the first year's license fee. Should the initial application be denied, such license fee shall be refunded to the applicant.
Do I renew my alcoholic beverage certificate annually?
Yes, all alcoholic beverage certificates expire December 31st of each year. A renewal letter is mailed to Each licensee shall make a written application for renewal on or before November 15 of each year on forms approved by the clerk, and the license fee shall be paid in full no later than December 31 of each year. If the renewal application is not made by November 15 of each year or if such fees are not paid by December 31 of each year then an additional $500.00 late fee will be assessed against the licensee.
If I sell my business, who do I notify?
You will notify the City Finance Department.
The City Finance Department will process your application of alcoholic beverages licenses only after sale of the business has been completed, and this application may be made the same day as the sale. After the alcoholic beverage application has been filed, the business may continue to serve alcohol for the shorter of 45 days or the time of approval or denial of the application.
If I close my business, who do I notify?
You will notify the City Finance Department.
We request written notice of business closure and surrender of alcoholic beverages licenses. Please also notify the Georgia Department of Revenue.
What is the difference between an LLC and a Corporation?
The owners of an LLC are called “members,” and instead of shares, each member owns a designated percentage of the company, sometimes called a “membership interest.” Memberships in an LLC may be more difficult to transfer than shares in a corporation. An LLC’s operating agreement will typically specify whether and how membership interests can be transferred. In some states, if a member leaves an LLC and the operating agreement does not specify otherwise, the LLC must be dissolved.
Why can’t I use my P.O. Box for the Business Location?
State law allows local governments to levy occupation tax only on businesses that have an office or location within that jurisdiction.
I don’t have any employees, do I still need to fill out the Private Employer Affidavit?
Business owners with 10 or fewer full-time employees will be exempt from E-Verify. However, before you receive your business license or occupational tax certificate, you will have to provide evidence to the City that you are exempt from the E-Verify requirements.
How do I register my business as a DBA?
A Trade Name/DBA can be registered at the Douglas County Clerk of Superior Court, 2nd floor, Judicial side, Douglas County Courthouse, 8700 Hospital Drive, Douglasville 30134, phone 770-920-7252.
Do I need a state license for my business as well?
There is no standard Georgia state business license required for every business. However, Georgia does have state professional licensing requirements described in Sec. 26-8. - Professionals as classified in O.C.G.A. § 48-13-9(c) for selected professions. Also, some businesses require a special local license in addition to the City business license.
How much will my Business License cost?
The cost of license varies with each business. There is a $50 processing fee for the application. The amount for the license itself is calculated by multiplying the anticipated Gross Receipts (a guesstimate of how much the business might earn) with the tax rate. Some businesses must also pay a regulatory fee. The total from that calculation will then be added to the processing fee, giving the true cost.
Who is exempt from paying the Occupational Tax?
All state and local authorities and all nonprofit organizations shall be exempt from occupation tax, regulatory fees and administrative fees. Nonprofit organizations will need to provide their tax exempt certificate from the Internal Revenue Service. Also, the City grants partial exemptions for disabled persons.
How do I change the name, location, or ownership of my business?
Please complete a new application, as the paperwork on file will need to be updated. There is no fee for a name or ownership change, although a $10 fee is associated with a change in location.
When do I renew my license?
Licenses expire at the end of each calendar year. Renewal notices will be sent out starting in October.
Those wishing to run for the Mayor or Council member positions should review the information on the Georgia Government Transparency and Campaign Finance Commission website (www.ethics.ga.gov) and then call the Douglasville City Clerk for more information (678 449 3018). Certain filings are required prior to accepting any donations or making expenditures.
Regular (voting) meetings are held on the first and third Mondays of each month, and Legislative work sessions are held on the Thursday prior to each Regular meeting. All meetings begin at 6:00 p.m., in the auditorium of the Douglasville Conference Center, 6700 Church Street. Other meetings are held from time to time after proper notice.
What is the City of Douglasville's Prayer Policy?
The Mayor and City Council meet regularly at 6:00 pm on the first and third Mondays of every month, and on the preceding Thursday evenings at 6:00 pm. The City allows a brief invocation to be given before each meeting by an invited minister or individual. The City is committed to religious and ethnic diversity, and welcomes people of all faiths to participate in leading a pre-meeting prayer or brief inspirational statement. Interested churches and individuals should fill out this online form to indicate your interest. You will be contacted by the City Clerk's office for details.
You must still register through the Occupational License Department. The fee, however, will be waived. Bring your not for profit paperwork to the Occupational License Department to present in order to obtain the permit.
When I get my business license, how should I display it?
The business license should be displayed in a conspicuous place within the business that is easily visible to the public. A peddlers permit must be kept on person at all times.
What is a junked or abandoned vehicle?
This city ordinance considers the following as junked or abandoned vehicles. Vehicles that are actually junked, partially disassembled, abandoned and inoperable vehicles. It also encompasses vehicles that are not properly tagged and registered.
As a general rule, temporary signs must be positioned 12 feet back from the curb to avoid being in the right of way. They cannot be attached to telephone poles or traffic signs. There are no signs allowed in roadway islands such as those found at the front of subdivisions. You must always have the property owner’s permission before posting a sign on their property. Monument signs have to be permitted by the Zoning Department. 770-920-3000
Does Douglasville have a grass ordinance?
Yes. Grass must not exceed 12 inches in height.
What area is the Douglasville Code Compliance Division responsible for?
The Douglasville Police Department Code Compliance Division has jurisdiction over violations within the actual city limits. Everything else is in the unincorporated county. For violations in the County, contact Douglas County Code Enforcement at 770-949-2000.
I have a tractor/trailer. Is there anywhere in the city I am not supposed to park?
Yes. Tractor Trailer parking is not allowed in any residential zone.
Can we bring our own food?
No, you cannot bring your own food into the facility. Proof of the Pudding is our exclusive caterer. However, you can bring your own specialty cake.
Can we bring our own alcohol?
No, you cannot bring your own alcohol into the facility. Proof of the Pudding is our exclusive caterer. They have several bar options for you to choose from.
Is security required during my event?
A City of Douglasville Officer is required for all events that have a bar, or a large number of minors. The Douglasville Conference Center will secure the Officer for $35 per hour, with a minimum 4 hour shift.
Do I have to use your preferred caterer?
Yes. Proof of the Pudding is our exclusive caterer, and they hold the Food & Beverage license.
Does the rental price include the food?
No, the price of food is separate from the rental price. The facility and catering are two completely separate entities, and will have separate contracts and deposits.
How do I secure my date?
Your date is secured with your deposit of half the room rental, and the signed contract.
How long can I book the room for?
We offer 6 and 12 hour room rentals; however, if additional time is needed, we can add hourly charges.
Do you have Wi-Fi?
Yes, there is Wi-Fi throughout the facility, and it's offered complimentary to our guests.
Can we decorate the room?
Yes, you can decorate the room; however, you can't hang anything on our walls or ceiling. Damage to the room can result in the loss of your cleaning deposit.
Do we have to clean up?
You are only required to bring out what you bring in. We will setup, breakdown, and clean the room.
Can I get a quote for my event?
Yes, you can complete the request for proposal form and we will respond back to you, or you can give us a call at 678.715.6094.
How do I take a tour of your facility?
You can call 978.715.6094, or email firstname.lastname@example.org to schedule an appointment. Walk in's are welcome, however, appointments are preferred to make sure that the room is available for viewing.
When are all balances due for an event?
Your balance is due to the facility at least 3 business days prior to your event. Your final head count and payment is due to the caterer 7 business days prior to your event.
Is parking available?
Parking is available in our adjacent parking deck. The parking deck is free of charge, and can accommodate up to 300 vehicles.
Do you offer an outdoor space?
Yes, we rent the O'Neal Plaza in 4 and 8 hour increments. There is an additional restroom fee when renting the plaza.
What does the room rate include?
The room rate includes a 6 or 12 hour room rental, tables, and chairs.
I received a citation in the City of Douglasville. What do I do?
The court date and time are listed on the citation regarding your appearance. This is an Arraignment date. You will be asked to enter a plea at that time. Please be on time for your appointed court date as the judge will give you a lot of valuable information at the opening of the court session.
Can I pay my ticket before the court date and keep from having to go to court?
Yes. You may pay the fine any time up to 24 hours before the court date and avoid having to come to court, as long as the violation is not a Must-appear (mandatory) offense.
To inquire about the fine amount; you may call Court Services (678) 293-1858 or use the online payment link provided douglasvillepay.com.
Please have your driver’s license number and/or your citation available when accessing the online payment system.
Can a friend or family member pay my fine for me?
Yes, a friend or family member can pay your fine if the offense is payable. You may also use our online payment service to pay your fine.
What is a "Must appear" offense?
“Must appear” offenses are those for which a defendant is required to appear before the Judge in court. The following offenses must appear in court:
Driving without valid license
Suspended plate registration
Possession 1 ounce or less of marijuana
Theft by shoplifting
Driving while license suspended or revoked
Speeding if 30 mph or more over speed limit
Speeding if driver under 21
Minor in possession of alcohol
Sale of alcohol to a minor
All City code violations are mandatory appearance in court.
What are my plea options?
The information listed below is not legal advice as you have many rights available to you.
Plea of Guilty: An admission of guilt. Depending on the offense, the plea may also apply points to your driver’s history or have other adverse effects.
Plea of Not Guilty: By pleading not guilty, you may request a bench trial or, if applicable, you may request your case be bound over to Douglas County for a jury trial.
Plea of Nolo Contendere: (Often known as Nolo or No Contest) this plea is only available once every (5) years and is discretionary. This plea requires your appearance in court.
What if I want to plead not guilty and have a trial?
If you plead not guilty, you will be given the option of having a jury trial in Douglas County State Court or a non-jury by our judge here in Municipal court. Your trial will not be on your arraignment date. You will be given a trial date so all witnesses, including the officer may be subpoenaed to testify during the trial.
Will the court appoint an attorney to represent me?
Yes, if you are indigent and meet the requirements, the court may appoint an attorney to represent you. The court requires completion of an application and financial statement and will make a decision upon review of these documents. You may ask for an application when you appear for your arraignment and will need to complete it that day at court.
How do I re-set my case?
You are allowed one re-set from Court Services. You must come to our office 2083 Fairburn Road, Douglasville, GA. 30135, between the hours of 8:00 am to 4:30 pm, Monday - Friday to sign for a new court date, no exceptions.
What type of documents are needed to get a new court date?
Court staff may grant the first continuance without documentation as long as it is not a “Must-appear.”
For cases that require a mandatory appearance:
You must appear on your court date to ask for a continuance. In certain circumstances, court staff may issue a continuance for a mandatory appearance upon presentation of one of the following documents:
Proof of incarceration
Notice to appear in another court on the same date and time
For cases that do not require a mandatory appearance:
If your case has already been issued a continuance, you must appear in court to request another continuance. In certain circumstances, court staff may issue a second continuance upon presentation of one of the documents listed above.
Metal Detector in Use
Before entering the Court Room, you will be required to walk through a metal detector at which time your bags or purse may be searched. If you have weapons such as guns, knives, pepper spray, or tools you will not be granted entry into the courtroom. If you have a Pacemaker do not proceed through the metal detector, please ask for a hand search. Please make sure you have your official government id and/or your driver’s license on your person before entering court.
All cell phones must be turned off or put on vibrate/mute before entering the courtroom
No food or drinks are allowed
Sunglasses should be removed
Parents with noisy children or babies may be asked to step outside until their case is called
Proper dress attire is expected- no halter tops. No clothing or ornamentation that promotes illegal substances, displays profanities, advocates, promotes, or suggests illegal activity.
What if I miss my court date?
If you fail to appear (FTA) for court and have not paid your fine prior to your court date as indicated on your citation, you will be subjected to serious penalties.
Your privilege to drive (license) may be suspended by the Department of Driver Services (DDS) and the court may issue a warrant for your arrest.
How do I get a copy of my police report? Is there a cost for the police report?
You will need to call the Douglasville Police Records Department at 770-920-3010.
You may pick up a copy of your report at the Police Department, which is also located at 2083 Fairburn road, Douglasville, GA.
Reports are usually completed within 5 business days.
Accident reports are $2.00 and Incident reports are .10 cents a page.
Donation Bins Ordinance
Where are donation bins allowed?
Donation bins are only allowed within the General Commercial (CG), Neighborhood Commercial (CN), and Commercial Shopping Center (CSC) zoning districts. For properties located in these areas bins are only permitted to be located in the front or side yards of the property. No bins are permitted to be in the rear of any property in any zoning district.
For properties that are more than four (4) acres there is a maximum of two (2) donation bins. All other properties have a maximum of one (1) bin per property.
Is there a size limitation?
There are limitations on the size of these bins, which is that no bin shall be taller than eight (8) feet in height and four (4) feet wide.
Are my existing bins covered under this ordinance?
No. All locations are required to come in to compliance with this ordinance no later than May 1, 2017. Failure to comply with this ordinance may result in action being taken by the City’s Code Enforcement Division.
Are there any other requirements?
All bins should be clearly marked with contact information that includes a schedule for pick-up of donated goods.
Where is City Hall located?
On O'Neal Plaza in Historic Downtown Douglasville. 6695 Church Street.
Are there any additional documents I must submit with my Police application?
Yes, we require copies of the following documents: birth certificate, driver's license, DD214 (for applicants with military experience), and high school diploma or GED.
How long is the police academy?
Can I submit an application for a future opening or a job that is not open?
We only accept applications for current openings.
Will you accept just my resume or must I complete an application?
A completed application is required for all positions to formally apply for a job. The additional information provided by an application is needed to verify your employment history and qualifications.
What do you mean by "closing date?"
The closing date is the last day we will accept applications for a specific position. Applications received after that date will not be considered for the position.
What does "Open Until Filled" mean?
This means the position can close without notice, once a sufficient number of applications from qualified individuals have been received.
I have previously applied for a job with the City. Can I use that application to apply for another job?
No, if you wish to apply for a different position you must submit a new application.
I have applied for a job. How can I find out the status of my application?
You are welcome to contact the Human Resources Department at any time about your application. We will advise you of the status of your application and the progress of the position.
What is the basic hiring process?
Our staff reviews applications, and either schedules an exam, or evaluates candidates against the minimum qualifications. After testing or review, we then refer the top candidates to the department for review. Human Resources will schedule interviews. If a selection is made, the Human Resource Director usually makes the official job offer to the candidate chosen. We then notify candidates not chosen that the position has closed.
Where can I find the City's personnel policies and procedure?
You can view the City's personnel policies and procedure on Municode.
What benefits are offered by the City of Douglasville?
We offer comprehensive medical, dental, and vision plans. In addition to, life and disability insurance, defined benefit and compensation plans, and a variety of ancillary carriers are available.
As a new employee when would I be eligible for benefits?
City of Douglasville employees are eligible for benefits on the first of the month following 30 days of regular full time employment.
Yes, a Georgia State fishing license is required to fish at Hunter Park. Hunter Park is a catch and release facility.
Can you put a barbeque grill on the terrace at Hunter Park?
No. Hunter Park has a designated area for grilling and frying. Please contact the front desk at 770-920-3007 for more information.
Planning & Zoning
What is the Liveable Centers Initiative (LCI) Program?
The City of Douglasville is an LCI Community. The LCI program encourages communities to implement strategies to link transportation with land use development to create mixed-use communities where you can live, work and play.
What is the process for transportation projects to be developed?
For a major transportation project the process can take up to 6 years, 2 years for preliminary engineering and environmental clearances, 2 years for right-of-way acquisition and 2 years for construction.
What is the cost of transportation projects?
Transportation projects can be very costly. Most projects are in the hundreds of thousands of dollars and larger projects can run in the millions of dollars.
Why does road construction take so long?
Roads must be kept open to traffic during the construction phase. Often times traffic congestion only allows for construction to take place at night or off peak periods.
I was a victim of a crime. When will I be able to get my property back?
Evidentiary items collected for a criminal case will have to be kept until the trial or until the case is disposed of. Once a property release is authorized by the District Attorney’s Office or prosecuting office handling the case, the Douglasville Police Department will then be able to work on returning the property to its owner.
I was a victim of a crime. When will I hear from a detective?
Crimes are assigned based on solvability. Once the investigator is assigned, he/she will try to contact the victim within 48 hours.
How can I find out about gang activity and learn about gangs?
The Douglasville Police Department attends and hosts informational meetings at community gatherings, churches, etc. in an effort to educate the public.
If your group or organization has any interest, or to find out about upcoming events, please contact Sgt. Ken Winklepleck.
Is the police department doing anything proactive to deal with gangs?
Yes, the Douglasville Police Department has spearheaded a program for at-risk youth. Chief Gary Sparks created the "Youth Against Violence" program that is taught by an ex-gang member who turned his life around after his prison term.
The program is 42 weeks broken down into, 4 eight week classes, and a 10 week class. We also offer a leadership program to all participants who graduates from the classes.
The program is open to all youth, and parents are welcome to sit in and learn themselves.
How long will it take for me to get my accident report?
The Records Division will typically have a report available after 3-5 business days.
Will the accident report list what driver was at fault?
Yes, the at-fault driver will be listed on the report, except in very rare cases during which it may be impossible to determine.
When can I get police and accident reports?
Please allow for 3-5 business days for your report to be available. The Records Division is open Monday through Friday from 8:00 am – 5:00 pm and is located at the new Public Safety and Municipal Court Building, 2083 Fairburn Road, Douglasville.
Does it cost anything for a police or accident report?
Currently, the Douglasville Police Department does not charge for small reports. We charge $2 per accident report and $.10 per page for incident reports. Open Records requests that take time to compile are charged for the time plus per page charge. First 15 minutes is free.
How do I obtain an Alcohol Serving Permit?
City of Douglasville Alcohol Serving Permits are issued by the Records Division of the Police Department Monday through Friday from 9:00 am - 4:00 pm.
An applicant needs to go to the Public Safety and Municipal Court Building, located at 2083 Fairburn Road, Douglasville, GA 30135 with a valid photo ID and pay $25 for the permit.
A background check will be done and the applicant must pass a ten question test. The Alcohol Serving Permit Photo ID will be made at that time.
Please note that there are no refunds for any reason.
What is the city ordinance concerning Alcohol Serving Permits?
Where can I get fingerprinted for a job application which requires fingerprints?
The Douglasville Police Department is no longer able to provide fingerprinting services for the public. Please visit the website below for more information about fingerprints and a list of locations that provide this service.
There are two locations within the city limits of Douglasville that provide fingerprinting. These locations are:
The UPS Store #1690
8491 Hospital Drive
Douglasville, GA 30134
The UPS Store #2523
7421 Douglas Boulevard
Douglasville, GA 30135
The City of Douglasville offers its residents two options for the collection and disposal of household garbage:
90-gal. cart, $19.50/mo.
65-gal. cart, $16.50/mo.
Residents who have Option 1 (90-gal. cart) and find their weekly garbage does not fit into the container may elect to order a second container for an additional fee:
Additional 65-gal. cart, $4.40/mo. or
Additional 90-gal. cart, $6.50/mo.
Is there a special program available for senior adults?
Yes, there is a special program is available for senior adults 64 years of age and older, with proof of age and no other adults living in the house aside from a spouse, 65-gal. cart, $3.00/mo. Backdoor pickup is available to handicapped or special needs residents, with proof of medical condition and no other able-bodied adults living in household.
What time will my garbage be picked up?
Pick up times vary. All residents should have their City of Douglasville carts (no personal containers may be used) placed at the curb by 7:00 am on your scheduled collection day.
How am I billed for my sanitation service?
Monthly fees for the sanitation service are charged to your water bill each month.
What do I do with excess garbage that will not fit in my cart?
Excess garbage that will not fit in your cart (lid must be completely closed) may be placed beside your cart in closed plastic bags and attached with a City of Douglasville Sanitation Sticker that is visible from the street.
Where do I get the City Sanitation Stickers for my excess garbage?
Stickers may be purchased at City Hall (6695 Church Street) at a cost of $1 each and sold in lots of five.
What is the fee for curbside recycling?
There is no additional fee for curbside recycling — it is included in your sanitation rate.
When is my curbside recycling picked up?
Curbside recycling is collected on the same day as your regular sanitation. A separate truck picks up recycling. As with sanitation, recycling bins should be placed at the curb by 7:00 am on your
scheduled collection day.
Will you pick up appliances or bulky items?
The City will pickup large items for a minimum fee of $25. Please call to schedule a special pickup.
What are the Spring and Fall Cleanup Weeks?
One week during the Spring and Fall the City picks up large items such as furniture and appliances for no charge. A special pickup does not need to be requested for these weeks. Items should be placed at curb by 7:00 am on your scheduled collection day.
Do I need to call for a special pickup for my yard waste?
No special pickup is necessary. Yard waste is picked up weekly on your scheduled sanitation day. Please do not hold yard waste for Spring and Fall Cleanup. Brushes, vines and small limbs no longer that 5 feet or 6 inches in diameter may be placed by the curb. Grass clippings and leaves must be bagged, preferably in biodegradable bags.
Why was my garbage not picked up?
Garbage must fit in cart with lid completely closed and be at the curb by 7:00 am. Carts that are not at the curb by 7:00 am or have lids that are not completely closed may not be picked up.